Whose hand are you holding?

When I was a little girl, I loved to ride the waves at the beach with my grandfather.  

I remember jumping as high as I could to beat the sting of the salt water in my eyes and up my nose, but the waves always grew taller than my body.  Somehow, I rarely beat those waves, only to repeat this over and over. Why was this fun?! I am not sure except for the great memories it left.  

When I would come up for air, choking and eyes burning from the salt water, I would look fiercely for my grandfather’s hand. Somehow there was comfort in always knowing it would be there. It was familiar. I was security. It would encourage me to get up and do it again. And yes, somehow it was fun! 

As an adult, and only the memories left standing, I sometimes feel like I am standing on that shore again but this time I do not feel that hand reach out for me. I feel as if I might drown this time.  

As I cry out to God, He reminds me that life will not always feel safe and secure. You might even feel like you are drowning but when you go under my hand will always be with you.  

I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand. Isaiah 41:10b  

For I hold you by your right hand-I the Lord your God. And I say to you, “Don’t be afraid. I am here to help you.” Isaiah 41:13  

These verses are promises from God.  

Have you ever felt like you were drowning in life?  

If you answered yes, you are not the only one. Me too. And so did Peter and the disciples……. 

The disciples were in trouble far away from land, for a strong wind had risen, and they were fighting heavy waves. Mathew 14:24…….vs. 27 but Jesus spoke to them at once. “Don’t be afraid,” he said. “Take courage. I am here!”  

Peter cried out to Jesus in verse 30. “Save me Lord.”  

And Jesus reaches out to grab him……Immediately! Verse 31.  

It is the cry that calls for the hand……Whose hand are you reaching for?  

God left us His promises for this reason, so that we will have His hand to hold onto.  

When we are standing on that shore, looking out into that sea of life, remember His promises.  

His hand is secure. His hand is close. His hand will encourage you to get up and do it all over again! 

Author: Mary Beth Powers write.speaker.encourager ❤️

Allowing God to transform me to His image. He takes my past and makes me new....Is 43:18

Leave a comment