Pathway to freedom

IT IS possible to have a relationship with Jesus, be destined for Heaven and still live in bondage-Something that steals your peace and joy and keeps you from living free with Jesus

I walked through a season of my life when I couldn’t understand if God came to set me free than why was I still living in bondage to guilt, shame and overwhelming anxiety?

Bondage is something that steals your peace and joy and keeps you from living free with Jesus.

I began to think maybe … God only granted Freedom to a certain type of person.

Like if you were a pastor….. Or an Important leader……or someone who knew a lot about the bible or someone who “never really did anything wrong in their past” …..Yeah that wasn’t me.

I even thought maybe I had this whole Jesus thing wrong?

The truth is when we give our lives to Jesus we are given the gift of freedom.

let me ask you…..

What exactly does freedom look like to you?

And what does it mean to live free in Jesus?

And once Jesus grants us freedom how do we stay free?

God brought me to this verse…..

Galatians 5:1 says…So Christ had truly set you free. Now make sure that you stay free and don’t get tied up again in slavery to the law.

”You were running the race so well. Who has held you back from following the truth? It certainly isn’t God, for he is the one who called you to freedom.“
‭‭Galatians‬ ‭5‬:‭7‬-‭8‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Did you catch that?

You are called to Freedom!!

God knew we would struggle with staying free from the distractions in this world.

For God? Our Freedom costs Him his son…….whether we choose to walk hand and hand on this earth with Jesus or not He still died for our freedom.

God’s purpose was to send Jesus to earth to be that sacrifice so that we could not only be free from eternal death but to LIVE in freedom with Him here on earth. He wants a relationship with us, to love us and serve out His purpose in us.

He tells us in Ephesians 1 …that this brings Him great pleasure.

The world tells us that Freedom is doing anything we want without any restraints or consequences but Gods word tells us differently ….that freedom, real freedom is found in Jesus.

“The heart of Freedom in the WORLD is about making our OWN way, living life on our OWN terms and without constraints.” Charles Stanley

But the bible says……..

2 Corinthians 3:17 …..For the LORD is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is Freedom.

I got tired of making “my way” work …. I had to lay down the things that keep me from living free …. doubt, fear, shame from my past, people please, false identity of who I was in Jesus…..

Let’s stop making our own way …. cause with Jesus He is the way. The way to real Freedom….. just let go!

Author: Mary Beth Powers write.speaker.encourager ❤️

Allowing God to transform me to His image. He takes my past and makes me new....Is 43:18

Leave a comment