FREE TO LOVE


Jesus set the greatest example:

Did you know that we are free to love?

Without judging? Or fixing?

When I discovered this for myself it was such a freedom and honestly it opened the door for me to love deeper.

I get it….it’s easy to judge or try to fix especially when you think you have the answer.

But Jesus is so much better at this ….

My favorite story in the Bible is in John 8. There is a woman who was caught in a sex act….scandalous but …

This story was actually a set up against Jesus from the Pharisees. They thought they had caught Jesus breaking the law. Surely this was the sin that was unforgivable right?

Little did they know just who they were talking to…..

The punishment? Stone her to death.

Talk about scandalous…. Jesus could have easily carried out the law here BUT….he chose mercy and grace instead.

The law actually stated that both the man and woman were to be stoned – yeah and where was tha man anyways?

Best part!!! Jesus saw all their hearts- from the women to the Pharisees- this is what He says, “ let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.“

Here is where I wanna stand up and shout “YEAH, you tell’em Jesus.”

And you know what happened? One by one they all walked away… talk about drop the 🎤!

But Jesus turns to the woman and says “ where are they?” 🤷‍♀️ “has no one condemned you?” ……

Sure, He addressed her sin. We can’t forget she did break the law but even Jesus looks at her and says, “Then neither do I condemn you, go now and leave your life of sin.”

Because Jesus loves so radically, I would be willing to bet that he was actually standing right next to the adulterous woman with His arm around her.

This is my perspective but I would be willing to bet he put his arm around and covered her with His cloak. He provided covering in the garden with Adam and Eve.

Now this is freedom….
So if Jesus can love freely why can’t we? He was the greatest example!!

We don’t have to try to fix anyone or judge them for what they have done, just love!! ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Who could you wrap your arm around today and love them even in their sin? 🤷‍♀️

pressuresoff #lovewins #livebyexample


Author: Mary Beth Powers write.speaker.encourager ❤️

Allowing God to transform me to His image. He takes my past and makes me new....Is 43:18

Leave a comment