How do we trust when there is evil all around us?

“Just trust” can seem like such an easy answer in the midst of fear, as it is truth, yet it seems like such an easy answer to my strong fear. Somehow, I think the answer should match my fear.

Evil is blanketing us everywhere we turn these days. Our world can be a scary place.

So how do we trust? The answer is more like, who can we trust?

To come to Him is to trust Him….

I remember, as a child when I was afraid or hurt I always looked for that person who could comfort me the most. Who was that person for you? A parent? A grandparent? A teacher? And who do you run to now?

Somehow it looks different now than it did then….

Trust is not having all the answers, it is believing in the One who does.

I used to say to God, “God if you would just tell me what to do, I would do it!” ….As if I had a right to bargain with God.

Sounds comical to say but I believed if I had all the answers it would be easier to trust, but that’s not trust at all, that’s trying to take control.

Trust is hard when we are surrounded by so much fear and panic, but trust is our escape to let go and let God. It’s our safe place in the midst of the storm.

So what does trust look like?

Trust isn’t something that comes easy for me. Deep-seated wounds cause me to want to fix it myself and take control. But here are a few things God has taught me as He walked alongside me revealing each step.

1. Pray and be still before the Lord. Talk to the one who knows all. He wants to hear your fears and concerns. Comfort is one of His specialties and He loves to do it. “And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness’.” For example, we don’t always know what to pray for, but “the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words.” Romans 8:26 NLT

2. Wait. When you don’t know what to do wait until you hear from God. He is not a God who hides from us. He is working behind the scenes preparing away. It takes time and our clocks are different than His. “But if we look forward to something we don’t yet have, we must wait patiently and confidently. ”Romans 8:25 NLT

3.Trust even if you don’t know His plan. He goes before us to make the pathway clear. And if not, He will make a new path and guide you gently to the new one. “He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire. He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along.” Psalms 40:2 NLT

I know my friend it isn’t always as easy as 1,2,3 but it’s a start to putting one foot in front of the other, so that God can show you great and mighty things along the way.

How do we trust when there is fear all around us?

Author: Mary Beth Powers write.speaker.encourager ❤️

Allowing God to transform me to His image. He takes my past and makes me new....Is 43:18

Leave a comment