Eight days later ….

Thomas has to be one of the most relatable people in the Bible. He developed a reputation by the name of “doubting” Thomas. But I have to ask who hasn’t doubted God a time or two in their life?

I know I have. I heard a preacher say one time the Thomas was actually inquisitive rather than doubtful.

No matter how doubtful, sinful or stubborn we are Jesus would still chase after you and me.

In this passage, Jesus had risen from the dead and his first stop was to see the disciples. He sent Mary ahead to tell them He was alive and He was coming to see them.

At this time, the disciples were in hiding behind closed doors because they were of afraid of Jewish leaders. I would have loved to have seen their faces as Jesus appeared to them. Isn’t it just like Jesus to appear in the midst of fear and exclaim.. “peace be with you?”

It is His presence that makes all things good.

Thomas was MIA when Jesus appeared the first time after His resurrection. I can only imagine why he was doubtful or curious. He had not yet witnessed Jesus in resurrection form. The disciples had to be full of excitement after seeing their best friend.

But something about verse twenty-six of John chapter twenty always fills my heart. The words eight days later are a great display of His love for us.

There have been times in my life I felt God had bigger “fish to fry” than my current situation but this verse shows different.

Jesus leaves nothing undone here. Eight days later he comes back for Thomas. He sees Thomas’ unbelief and makes sure to let Thomas know He is alive and real.

How incredible is it that Jesus uses the very same words out of Thomas mouth to heal Thomas’ uncertainty of Him?

But he replied, “I won’t believe it unless I see the nail wounds in his hands, put my fingers into them, and place my hand into the wound in his side.”

A whole eight days pass …. I’m wondering do you think Thomas felt left behind? Maybe forgotten? Or even left out of the group?

I know I have felt that way when I don’t hear from Jesus right away. When He’s not on “my time” I sometimes feel forgotten. But isn’t it like Him to be right on time even if it’s eight days later.

This passage proves to me that Jesus always sees us, never leaves us and always seeks after us. He doesn’t forget us and in His presence He always brings peace.

Jesus never forgets us ❤️

Author: Mary Beth Powers write.speaker.encourager ❤️

Allowing God to transform me to His image. He takes my past and makes me new....Is 43:18

Leave a comment