Show me the right path, O Lord

Show me the right path, O Lord

Wouldn’t it be nice if we knew the right path to take ahead of time?

Like when we have a decision on which job to take? Or where to live? Or which church to attend? Who to date or marry?

Or simply which dress to wear to our next event?

My husband and I were recently traveling back from an anniversary trip and our GPS gave us an alert that traffic was at a standstill a few miles ahead. So I convinced my husband to reroute our trip through a little town I was familiar with in my previously travels.

His response was “sure but I have no idea where we are” but my thoughts were we had the gps right? Beside the country side was beautiful to see.

So we headed off to the little town nearby enjoying the scenery, when my husband asked “how are we on gas?” Well I assumed we had plenty because of our last stop he replenished it but I was wrong we were low and no gas station in site on these beautiful country roads.

It was then my GPS decided to reroute us down unfamiliar roads, my gas light comes on and now there was no cell service.

Yes…. I began to panic and pray for the person behind the door I was about to knock on would be gracious enough to loan me gas.

Did I mention my car only takes a certain type of gas? Finally up ahead we see a gas station pulling in with a sigh of relief only to find out they did not carry my type of gas.

By this time I was in full panic mode. My stomach began to hurt, I began to sweat and I was holding back tears of terror as my knuckles became white from gripping the steering wheel to tight.

What were we going to do?

If only our gps had stayed on track because we had trusted it.

I began to pray Lord please find us a gas station. By this point we were willing to put any type of gas in the car and reap the consequences later.

Have you ever found yourself in this situation in life?

How did we get here? I was sure this was the right path and now I was willing to do anything to get myself out of this mess….Begging God to fix it. If only I had trusted in Him first instead of my own way, would the outcome been better?

Psalms 25:4-5 show me the right path, oh Lord; point out the road for me to follow. Leave me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me. All day long I put my hope in you.

God was so gracious that day in our travels. He put us back on the right path, lead us to the right gas station-with the right gas and we made it home safely. But it reminded me of how many times in my walk with Jesus do I try to bring Him onto my path rather me onto His.

He has the right path and He always points us in the right direction of truth and righteousness if only we put our hope and trust in Him first ❤️

Author: Mary Beth Powers write.speaker.encourager ❤️

Allowing God to transform me to His image. He takes my past and makes me new....Is 43:18

Leave a comment