Unplugged

Sometimes we need to stop and be still to remind us of our purpose. Unplug from the world. Turn off the noise.

The serene silence made time stand still.

I came here with MY agenda to a place that lives up to its name … #unplugged

As I walked to the back of the property, I started to turn back because I was on unfamiliar ground. A bit creepy but the curiosity of a familiar noise drew me in closer.

Water.

There is something about the water that draws us in, perhaps it’s the calmness of the steady flow, or the noise that drowns out life around us.

It becomes an invitation to sit and listen. As I sat, looking all around me, I felt I needed to ask permission from my surroundings….

Nothing there but serenity. I stood in awe of this place. Why wasn’t it mentioned?

As if it some sort of surprise….

I wanted to be close to the water so I eased my way towards a rock and sat.

I closed my eyes so that I could only hear the flow of the water, the steady stream.

As the sun came bearing down, all I could feel was warmth as if it reached down to hug me to hold me there.

It was then I was reminded of Elijah when God placed him by the brook. Was this my Cerith for the next few days?

“So he went and did according to the word of the LORD, for he went and stayed by the Brook Cherith, which flows into the Jordan. (I Kings‬ ‭17:5‬ ‭NKJV)‬‬

In the stillness of the air, I began to feel a gentle breeze move across my face. I knew He was there to meet me because I opened my eyes only to see several wind chimes planted all around me were silent.

Suddenly an agenda wasn’t needed only His presence.
I could see Him in everything ….tiny purple flowers peeping through the middle of dead leaves left from winter.

It’s in these moments, unplugged, He brings life into all things ….the water, the air, the sand, the rocks and dead leaves.

In the stillness He became my agenda….❤️

Author: Mary Beth Powers write.speaker.encourager ❤️

Allowing God to transform me to His image. He takes my past and makes me new....Is 43:18

Leave a comment